11-03-12 HVNP

Aloha,

I’ve been busy hiking and have had little time to post anything. I never find a way to catch up on my images. This post is about my last two visits to the volcano. Remember, I post shots from various angles for publishers. A few from these outings might be added to my Fine Art gallery.

The first was to the park its self and some images of Halemaumau’s glow before and during sunrise. The lack of trade winds meant there would be calm conditions allowing the plume to rise straight up into the night sky. I also stopped along the highway to get a few shots from a distance. The glow was very bright and easy to see for miles. After a nice pre dawn session I ventured to other areas of the park to take advantage of the light winds and beautiful skies. I did shoot Thurston lava tube too which was nice and dry for once.

View the gallery here. 11-03-12 HVNP

I know the images are posted at a small on my website. Having about ten thousand images on their its necessary to keep them small so the site loads quickly. The detail in the images from my Nikon D800 is amazing. If you’re a publisher looking to license any of them, you won’t be disappointed. They’re meant to print at large sizes.

The other gallery is small but, it does have some interesting images from a recent hike to the lava flows just east of the park. I can’t post everything I shot right now or even say why not. They will have to wait until some time early next year. Lets just say it was a great experience. For the most part the weather was nasty with strong trade winds and frequent showers. We did get a nice though a bit muted lunar rainbow and then a nice morning rainbow. The lunar one was muted as it was only a crescent moon which I was surprised to see it produce even that. Had it been a full moon one, a spectacular image could have been captured. As it was, my only opportunity wasn’t successful due to the strong winds. The lava flow activity was very subdued. So, much so that the flow wasn’t really seen until we were right there.

Limited images from this hike can be seen here. 11-09-12 lava

I have many other images to post if I ever find the time from other parts of the Big Island. And then there’s the video footage I always talk about too…..

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Kilauea’s Halemaumau Vent

Hawaii lava flows

Jeep under the Milky Way and the glow from Puu Oo vent

Aloha,

Bryan Lowry lavapix.com

All content is copyright protected ©Bryan Lowry/lavapix.com. Use without my permission is prohibited. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “11-03-12 HVNP

  1. As always Bryan, some great images! I particularly liked the ones showing the vent in relation to the surrounding land. And the sky pics and the close-up shots of the abstract lava shapes are beautiful…
    LOL about finding time to process all your images – I’m still working on images from months ago…
    And, now I understand about the small image sizes in regards to file size and loading speeds. The gallery displays look better now – did you tweak them somehow?

  2. Thanks Mark….lol, I too have non lava images from the past few months I need to catch up on. And now there’s a swell coming. I did make the display image a bit larger on my site which means less thumbnails and more pages.
    There’s always a compromise. The D800 images will show at a max of 800 pixels and the older images max out at 500 pixels. The close up lava ones I ran over to get them as it set up perfectly. A situation like that the lava isn’t too hot because the front is stalling and there’s no threat for a sudden breakout. I laid on my stomach to compose them. All cameras need articulating tilt displays :-) I always forget that I can shoot clean high iso’s with the D800.

Leave a Reply

