12-06-12 Hawaii Kilauea Lava Flow Ocean Entry Nikon D800

Aloha,

I made another visit to the new ocean entry.

The entry has moved further east and as of this writing is spreading. For now there isn’t much of a bench being built. It’s not really vigorous enough to build the bench as fast as the ocean breaks it down. Of course this can all change quickly. One part is building more of a vertical bench. It was very windy as usual. Shot way too much video. Some of my images show a progression of two nice breakouts on the western entry. It didn’t last very long but, there were some nice chunks of lava falling down to the ocean.

I brought my big Sigma 120-300 mm 2.8 lens. Haven’t used it in nearly two years. Being that it’s a short hike and not as much water is needed, I decided to bring it along. It weighs 8 lbs. I wasn’t sure if the strong winds were going to lead to slightly blurry images while using such a big lens. All turned out great.

I’m still using my F-Stop Tilopa camera backpack. Also my Lowepro hipster bag on the waist belt for easy access to gear while on the move and for using while set up at a site. They both work well together.

No warnings this posting.

Click on the image below to visit the gallery. Video can be seen here.

In case you missed it, I added video from the previous hike to my volcano video page.

Enjoy…..

Hawaii Sunrise Lava Flow

Lava flowing over a 40′ sea cliff into the ocean.

Aloha, Bryan Lowry lavapix.com All content is copyright protected ©Bryan Lowry/lavapix.com. Use without my permission is prohibited. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

