2-08-10 Royal Gardens Lava Flow

2-08-10 Royal Gardens Lava

Aloha Everyone,

Finally found time to finish my last volcano hike images. Some nice A’a and Pahoehoe flows on the steep pali that leads to the flats. The pahoehoe was inflating near the base and has since progressed towards the ocean.

It’s still a fragile tube system that one long duration tilt drop could stall it. If it does continue towards the ocean it will enter in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park for the first time in a very long time. My images have forest flows at night along with one image showing the Big and Little dippers with Polaris (The North star). Then sunrise shots from the base of Royal Gardens. Images of my new f-stop camera backpack in action. I also hiked up to see how much lava was making its way from the higher elevations. Made my way up the last section of Ali’i Avenue. Forgot how steep that street is. Stopped at what use to be Ali’i and Plumeria. Stop signs were still there surrounded by fresh lava. Could see the road burning over on Jack Thompsons side. Didn’t cross over since the flow was too active and I had a long hike back. 12 hours on my feet was plenty for my bad ankle. Can’t wait for my new hiking boots to be ready! I always wear my boots way past their usefulness. Check my facebook fan page for a more in depth explanation on that subject.

New images from that hike have been added to my Fine Art gallery. Image numbers added, 232, 233, 234, 235, 236, 239, 240, 241.

Today was the monthly Kona Stroll art fair. Hot sunny day like everyday this winter. Nice crowd. Thank you to all who made purchases and helped give money to Easter Seals Hawaii. 20% of my profits will be donated. It was a pleasure talking story with everyone. Every photo has a story and if people are interested I’m willing to talk about them.

Recently I did an online interview on Peter Carey’s Digital Photography School website. Take a look. Peter purchased one of my images previously and later asked if I were interested in doing a question and answer type posting. Peter is on huge photography adventure of his own right now. Check out his website. Its very informative.

Aloha,
Bryan Lowry
lavapix.com

All text and images are copyright protected ©Bryan Lowry/lavapix.com. Use without my permission is prohibited.
Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Leave a Reply

