4th of July 2012 Fire and Fireworks

Aloha,

This a short post with a few images from the 4th of July here on the Kona side of the Big Island.

We had a decent sized brush fire along Hina Lani St. (Costco Rd). Shot the image from Holualoa from the same location I shot the fireworks.

Took only a few photos of the fireworks as the smoke was lingering quite a bit so, I shot mostly video. All with the Nikon D800. The video looks great. It could be better if I could remember not to touch the camera while its recording 🙂 Used my Sigma 120-300mm 2.8 lens. Could have used my Nikon 180mm 2.8 since I shot at nearly that focal range.

For those of you not familiar with the Kona area, your seeing the town lights along Ali’i Dr and the fireworks are being launched from a small floating platform out in the bay/ocean. Images shot from the 1700′ elevation.

I will try and post highlights from the video someday……

Click on any of the 3 images to view on my website. They aren’t so compressed.

Be sure and visit my Volcano Fine Art Gallery. Free shipping on all website orders.

Hawaii Brush Fire

Brush Fire Near Costco, Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Kona Hawaii Fireworks

4th of July, Kailua Kona, The Big Island of Hawaii

Kona Hawaii Fireworks

4th of July, Kailua Kona, The Big Island of Hawaii

Aloha,

Bryan Lowry
lavapix.com

All text and images are copyright protected ©Bryan Lowry/lavapix.com. Use without my permission is prohibited. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “4th of July 2012 Fire and Fireworks

Leave a Reply

