6-10-13 The Weather Channel – Lava Chasers Show

Aloha,

Yes, my posts are getting more and more infrequent. It doesn’t mean I’m not doing anything. Just the opposite.

This post pertains to a show I was involved in late last year. Its called “Lava Chasers” and it airs on the Weather Channel. Seems the episode I was in aired on June 8th locally here in Hawaii. My standard cable doesn’t have The Weather Channel so, I haven’t seen the show yet. I’m sure it will air many more times. Check your local listings.

Yeah, I’m a bit late on posting about this show but, like I said, it should air many times.

Feedback from those who have seen it has been good so far. I’m sure die-hard WC fans who only want to see the weather will have they’re opinions on a volcano show being on the Weather Channel.

I was contacted by a production company last year asking if I was interested in being a part of this series. Most times I turn down requests to be filmed or written about as the angle they always want to portray is “Daredevil Photographer” risks all for lava photos!! That’s not my thing. I’m in my third decade now exploring the lava flows and me still being alive isn’t by accident. I don’t just explore and photograph the volcano, I study it too. Sure there are risks involved but, they are well thought out based on my field experience and I always have safety in my mind first.

It is television so, I’m sure there’s dramatic music etc… that’s pretty standard and most shows would be boring without it. Imagine having only to listen to me talk for an hour straight. Well, some of you reading this have had to for longer than that. The show is narrated at times too. Hopefully the facts they present are correct.

Overall the production companies crew listened to what I offered and stayed true to my wishes. Of course at this time I haven’t seen the ready for TV edited show so, I don’t know what was used from all the footage shot. We were out most of the night to late morning and we covered a lot of ground. The lava flow activity was minimal but, perfect for setting up lots of production gear without having to worry about moving it every few minutes due to the advancing lava flow. The conditions were exactly what I had told them to expect that night/day. Bouts of heavy rains and constant strong winds. It was actually kind of cold too.

For me the hike was nothing more than a long walk compared to my more adventurous outings but, it was just right for what we were doing. It’s always fun to see the reactions from people seeing lava for the first time. The crew was great to work with. The production companies people were from The United Kingdom and they hired on a couple local film industry people to help out.

The theme of the show was me being a longtime lava flow veteran taking a first time visitor out to the lava flows. That would be Jimmy. So, it was me being myself as we filmed along the way. Well, I had to be good for the camera. Sarcasm doesn’t always bode well with the masses. You do get times when there are re-takes and you need to do the scene all over again. No different then having to repeat something said that wasn’t heard the first time. Or like talking to someone who hears you but, always likes to say “What?” You know who you are. There’s the sarcasm I was talking about. Most of them were due to sound and lighting issues. The intermittent heavy rains didn’t help either.

I’m more use to taking film crews out and watching them do their thing vs being in the show too. My last filming was back in 2003 the show Secrets of Hawaii’s National Parks. It still airs today. I looked so much older back then.

My intent wasn’t to be a self-proclaimed know it all when it comes to Kilauea volcano. Its still an active volcano that in the end is truly unpredictable but, yet it does have its predictable periods at times. Its understanding the differences that are most important.

There was a spin on me having disabilities. This was in part due to the obvious when people would see my hands during the show. They would surely wonder what happened. I wanted to be sure it wasn’t a “look at poor me and what I have to deal with” thing. What I wanted portrayed was how so-called disabled people of any degree can accomplish plenty in they’re lives. Most importantly I wanted this directed to young kids with disabilities. Of course I’m not saying become a volcano photographer/explorer, just saying you can do more than anyone ever imagined. Not sure if they even used any of that footage but, thought I would mention it if they did.

The part shot at my home showing me packing my gear was really hot. I had recently moved from up mauka around the 1700′ elevation down to maybe 50′ above sea level and I was still adjusting so, I was sweating buckets while doing that part.

So far I haven’t been able to find where it can be viewed online but, I do have this link to the trailers for each episode. This first one has me in it. Not sure if I’m in just one or more as they could have broken it up into multiple episodes. It would have been nice to have a screen shot of the page for this posting but, can’t get much of anything now.

The trailers can be seen here. “Fighting Mother Nature” and “Long Hike To Lava” are the ones I’m in.

Feedback is always welcomed. Be nice, kids read this too.

I may update this post once I’ve seen the show. More posts coming when I find the time.

***First update*** Gallery where a few images of the filming can be seen. Click here.

Hawaii lava flows

The Weather Channel show Lava Chasers

Aloha, Bryan Lowry lavapix.com All content is copyright protected ©Bryan Lowry/lavapix.com. Use without my permission is prohibited. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “6-10-13 The Weather Channel – Lava Chasers Show

  1. Very cool Bryan! The show should bring you some added exposure, though the aperture of the Weather Channel is a bit stopped down. Maybe Nat-Geo is next?
    Question: I’m curious what Jimmy is doing videoing two cameras side by side: some type of 3D time lapse, or is he capturing a two-bracket exposure for post-production dynamic range blending?

  2. Hey Mark, He was shooting both 2D and 3D. The weather wasn’t the best as the trades were very strong and misty rain was always present until sometime after sunrise.
    I said to them, “Welcome to my world” 🙂

  3. Very cool, I especially enjoy your blog. Saw the volcano (on vacation) from helicopter in 2003, and you give me a whole new understanding. PS: You have one proud mama 🙂

  4. Hi Vicki,
    Thanks for the comments. 2003 had lots of activity at Puu Oo vent. Hopefully you got to see some of that back then on the Heli tour.
    I could do a much longer show based on all I’ve seen and done since I moved here in 91.

Leave a Reply

