9-25-13 Discovery Channel

Aloha,

Well, I was planning on posting this later but, seeing I’m part of the official media release, I guess I can post it now.

In August of this year I was involved in a filming for Discovery Channel Canada’s Daily Planet show. I took one of the hosts Ziya Tong out to the lava flow ocean entry. Yep, she was fortunate enough to spend the night hiking in the rain with a great looking guy. Think back to this when you read the part about sarcasm.

Of course there was the film crew too. They were a good bunch of people and we had a great time. The rainy weather I warned them about made sure not to disappoint. It rained quite often. This slowed us down so, we weren’t able to do everything that was planned but, now it gives Ziya a reason to come back. I think I did well with the filming. There were a few re-takes but, not many as the crew was very good at directing. Plus, having just filmed another show several months earlier, I pretty much knew what to expect. I would have liked to have been more my usual sarcastic self but, with the time crunch we were under I didn’t want to cause delays if they didn’t like what I had to say. Once the show airs I will tell you a few of the things I was about to say but, caught myself and was more cordial.

Overall the activity was subdued compared to what I’m use to but, plenty for the first timers. Don’t want to overwhelm people. Its happened before. We were very fortunate as the lava flow in that area stopped completely several days later and has yet to resume. The crew wasn’t up to my usual 15-20 mile hikes. They shouldn’t feel bad as few people are.

I haven’t seen the final show and most likely won’t until most of you do. Obviously the majority of you reading this don’t live in Canada but, not to worry. I believe it will also air online. Once I have that info I will post a link as an edit to this post.

They have me a part of their “Adrenaline Junkies” week. Now that really doesn’t describe me well because hiking the lava flows isn’t an adrenaline rush for me. Might be for those that on a rare occasion get to hike with me but, its much the opposite as I find the lava flows very relaxing. I guess to some degree there is adrenaline to get myself to drive 5 hours round trip, then many times hike 15-20 miles in the middle of the night and be out for 12-15 hours. Adrenaline and natural green tea certainly help.

I made sure they knew I was very much safety oriented and very well prepared. I’m pretty sure this is how I will be portrayed.  I never want to be portrayed as one of those daredevil photographers at the lava flows. I know what I’m doing. There’s no need to be a daredevil. I’m not out for my 15 minutes of fame. Production companies approach me. If I like what they want to do, we do it. If not, I pass.

Several of my images are featured in the show along with some of my video clips.

I will be watching the segments of the four other guys mentioned in the release. Especially Garrett McNamara. I surf too but, nothing like what he does.

Once its online I will send out another alert. Check out the media release here. Media link might not be working. Show airs Oct 8 at 7 pm (EST).

***Watch online here***And or here too. The hosts talk briefly about the experience on the 2nd link. I’m in the second half of this clip.

Feel free to share a link to this post on your favorite social network.

The image below is Ziya and myself at the ocean entry (credit, Christine Mayall, Producer at Bell Media).

Ziya Tong and Bryan Lowry

Ziya Tong and Bryan Lowry

Aloha, Bryan Lowry lavapix.com All content is copyright protected ©Bryan Lowry/lavapix.com. Use without my permission is prohibited. All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “9-25-13 Discovery Channel

  1. I look forward to seeing the show Bryan – keep me posted on the web link. I find it amusing that you felt compelled to reign in you usual sarcastic wit. I think a whole show could be produced around it. Just mind you don’t cut yourself with that acerbic tongue of yours! LOL 🙂

  2. Too funny. You just wanted to make me look up “acerbic” didn’t you. They told me the shows audience was ages 9-90 and I thought maybe I shouldn’t narrow it down to some very small numbers. We had so little time to do all they wanted and set up and breakdown for each scene took longer than they expected. The rain didn’t help. It was an ambitious schedule for newbies at the flows. All in all it worked out fine as everyone adapted to the time crunch.

  3. Congrats Bryan. You deserve the recognition! I’m looking forward to the show, so I hope they air it in the USA. Incidentally, I’ll be in Maui Dec. 8-15 so if you have time, come on over.

  4. Hi Sandra,

    It really isn’t about recognition but, thanks just the same. It should be online and when I know a link will be added to this post.
    Have fun on Maui. Doubt I can make it. Haven’t left the island in almost 3 years now. Always good to hear from you.

  5. Nice! looking forward to the show – appreciate the heads-up. PS – Ziya is beautiful / You – Rugged?? 🙂

  6. Bryan you are a true artist because you do what you do simply for the love of it. The recognition you are getting with the Daily Planet is just the icing on the cake! I loved the show. I think it portrayed who you are beautifully; I felt like I was back out there on the lava field with you!! You were born to defy the odds and kick ass Bryan Lowry!! I look forward to years more of stunning images!!!! You are Amazing and a True Inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

