7-26-16 Hawaii Lava Flow Video – New Ocean Entry

Videos of the newest lava flow ocean entry at Kilauea volcano Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

The Kamokuna ocean entry.

I arrived at the new ocean entry about 15 minutes after it started.
You can see how the new delta/bench (new land) grows as the video progresses.

As its been throughout this new flow, it was quite windy.

Videos of this event are from my Nikon D800 and the Gopro Hero 3+.

The tour boat seen is Lava Ocean Tours. Capt Shane and crew. Great tour to go on.

In the Nikon shot video I sped up a few clips to show how the steam plume swirls as it rises.

There will be a follow-up blog post once I’ve edited my still photos.

My usual warning.
Do not attempt to do what I do.
I have 25 years of experience and I know what I’m doing out there.
So many things can go wrong for those who don’t understand or can’t recognize the dangers of a volcanic eruption.
Stay away and watch my videos instead.

Having said my usual warning, let me add that this flow is accessible via hikes of at least 9 miles round trip.
Expect large crowds of people. Be sure to carry at least 3 liters of water per person.

Always use extreme caution at the sea cliffs and never walk out onto new land as it could easily collapse into the ocean taking you with it.
As the bench grows the immediate sea cliff will be vulnerable to collapse also.
I highly recommend you watching this HVNP safety video on safety at ocean entries.

http://lavapix.com/#/page/lava-viewing-safety-video/

Also, its best not to breath if you find yourself engulfed in the steam plume. If you think you will be in it often, be sure to wear a respirator.

Prints from my adventures can be purchased on my website lavapix.com.
Or locally at Krazy About Kona in the Kona Inn Shopping Village, Kailua Kona, HI.

***All content copyright protected 2016 © Bryan Lowry / lavapix.com All rights reserved worldwide***

“To use this video in a commercial player, advertising or in broadcasts, please email Brave Bison at licensing@bravebison.io

2 thoughts on “7-26-16 Hawaii Lava Flow Video – New Ocean Entry

  1. Great video Brian! As always, you’re on it! What’s the danger level from zero (you’re alive) to ten (you’re dead!)? Inquisitive dummies want to know…LOL!

  2. Mark. You spelled my name wrong…I’d give it a 5.673. It really depends on what I eat before heading out there. Oh, then there’s the wind, rain and that lava stuff. Thanks about the footage.

Leave a Reply

